When you haven’t been made redundant

Just yesterday a department was made redundant which means that two people will be leaving in due course.  

Now I have been made redundant twice in my life time so I am aware that at this moment the future is scary but having done a lot of soul searching and applying the Law of Attraction I remember that when I was last made redundant I thought of it as an OPPORTUNITY.  I had become quite “comfortable” in my life and it became increasingly boring that I was doing the same thing day in and day out.  By focusing on “what can I do next” I went online and did a few online courses to improve my skills, updated my resume and even read anything I could find on what I really wanted to do in the future.  I knew what I wanted but didn’t think it would occur.

I wanted to work for a small company, I had worked for an International Company for 10 years and was becoming a number rather than a person.  I wanted to be appreciated for the work that I did and I wanted to be happy doing my job.

I didn’t think that was too much to ask but so many people, who were also losing their job, were panicked as to where they would get their next pay cheque.  Sure I wanted to be paid well but that wasn’t a major issue for me.  Of course I wanted to make my house payments and be able to afford petrol and groceries but it wasn’t a priority when thinking of my next life choice.

So I had a plan – well I gave myself a time limit.  When I finished work I would give myself six months.  I found a few temporary positions which went for a couple of weeks at a time and this gave me the opportunity to appreciate my down time since I didn’t take too much time for myself in the past but I was still looking for more permanent work.

 Then a phone call came in asking me to attend an interview.  I hadn’t even remembered applying for the position but I made a time for an interview.  I came out of the interview convinced that this was the job for me. A small company that needed my skills and wasn’t far from home.  Who could ask for more?

The second interview was with the Directors and I still remember one of them saying at the end of the interview “If it was up to me you’d be working for us now.”  I came out of there happy as…and before I got home I got a phone call offering me the job.  Of course I said yes, even though the money they were offering was less than I had been getting at my old job.  But I wanted it so bad.

I started with the company – it was small with only 19 staff.  Just what I wanted and things were going well.   A year in and I received a very lucrative pay rise which, of course, I accepted. 

Then I realised that their overheads were more than the money they were making.  Time has passed and little by little staff have been made redundant.  It has nothing to do with the people who worked very hard but the company grew too big too fast and they couldn’t keep up with the demand and the costs involved. 

The last of the redundancies will occur in the next couple of months and staff is reduced from 19 to 6.  I feel terrible for the people who are leaving, and I can smile and say “change is a good thing” but when you’re in the midst of trying to figure out “What my next move is” it’s pretty scary.  I know that they will all do well because they have achieved a lot of experience in the years working here, they just have to take a leap and believe it themselves. 

I will still be here, in this little company that is returning to its roots and I’m sure they will thrive and become lucrative again and I look forward to being a part of that. 

Change is not bad – it’s scary but if you embrace it possibilities are endless.

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. I love to write and writing romance keeps me from going completely mad. I have found a job that I absolutely love and there are times it affords me time to type out my stories since I write all my stories by hand - I'm never without a pen or book. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. The Law of Attraction is something very close to my heart and I can honestly say with certainty that it works for me. I am truly grateful for the life I have been given and continue to enjoy. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When you haven’t been made redundant

  1. utesmile says:

    That is a big change from 19 to 6.Everybody left must work double hard then….. or the advertising /marketing section needs to get more productive. Hope all redundancies find a way to go on somewhere else . All the best to you and hope the company can go back to it’s high again soon!

Leave a Reply

