DRUGS – YAY OR NAY??

Wow, two blogs in two days… I’m obviously on a role.

A week ago I had a conversation with a work colleague who claimed that when he took drugs he saw things so clearly and feels that drugs are not bad for you used in the right way.

I have been grappling with this ever since.

Now to be honest I’ve never smoked or taken drugs and I have a brother who used drugs excessively to the point of having a breakdown in his late 20s so I might be a little biased but I have never seen the necessity to take drugs.

Maybe in my younger years I wanted to lose weight and all those “diet pills” might have tempted me but I thought of my body and what I might do to it in the long run.

Today I have high blood pressure, high cholesterol and diabetes type 2 (due to my weight) but I have been attending Weight Watchers who are teaching how to eat well, adopt a healthy lifestyle and accept that I can change.  I am now healthier than ever, my blood pressure and cholesterol is down and my diabetes is definitely under control.

Having said all that I have used my brain in ways that give me peace, I meditate and adopt a positive and refreshingly upbeat attitude to life – meaning?  I don’t need drugs to give me clarity, in fact, the clarity comes from my optimism and faith that I am the best me of my life and I can be and do anything I like in this world even at 57.

Drugs are an option when you feel that there is no other option available to you and it’s a shame that it took a drug to make him see clearly but see what?  He’s still stressed, he has a young child and hasn’t had a decent night’s sleep in two weeks, he is constantly sick and has, at times, looked like he hates his life.  If you hate it so much, change it!!  But don’t depend on drugs for clarity otherwise your “Senior years” might be tempered with drug induced hazes.

I do hope that by writing this blog someone has a chance to take stock and realise that you are able to be whoever you are with a positive attitude and supportive friends and family who love you enough to help you through any problems and that drugs aren’t the best option or answer.

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. What do I want to do? I have my new house and am enjoying making it my own but now I am looking for the right job for me after 10 years of being "just a receptionist". I don't want to be "JUST" anything anymore. I would like a job that helps me grow personally, something that encourages me to learn but also where I can be creative and people appreciate me. I want, I want, I want but really I need to know that I am comfortable in my own skin and my life means something to me. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DRUGS – YAY OR NAY??

  1. utesmile says:

    I totally agree with you, I’ve never tried any and in my 20’s when people talked about it, I was told I cannot talk about it as I never tried it. Still drugs are temporary and changing one’s life or attitude can be permanent. So instead of drugs, think clearly without it how to manage life without drugs.

Leave a Reply

