It’s amazing how stress, habit and worry are so intertwined

I have finally decided to take two days off from the stress and worry of work and suddenly here I get two totally different emails regarding worry and habit and I realise that all three are connected.

I am coming up to two years in my job.   A job I love – it’s a small commercial painting company but it has good bones and so many possibilities.  The problem is, however, money, there’s too much money going out (eg large tax bill) and not enough coming in so everyone is stressed and I worry, not because I might lose my job (although it is a consideration) but that I have to take the phone calls from the irate customers demanding their money. I don’t have a thick skin at all and that tends to weigh heavily on me.

Added to that I am finding my daily life is becoming habit forming – I get up at 6.10 am every morning, I feed the dog, have a shower, get dressed, get in the car and drive the same way to work every day.  Once at work I turn on the lights, the computer, fill the photocopier, the water tank, the coffee machine, put away the dry dishes and generally clean up and go back to my desk ready to read my emails and start work.  Going home I get in the car, prepare to sit in traffic for double the time it took me to get to work this morning and once home either go for a walk or started dinner or if I’m a little later I’ll start dinner and then go for a walk.  It’s all a bit boring.

Taking these two days off is encouraging me to stop trying so hard and just relax.  I drive to work and see people walking in the morning.  This morning that person walking was me. I was out in nature, walking around a couple of parks and a lake close to home.  I needed to get out and just relax.  Whenever I found myself thinking of work I have been able to tune into a song that I was listening to on my ipod and keep going.

Having said all that I haven’t just been sitting on my laurels, I have been thinking about what I do on a hourly, daily, weekly and even monthly basis and I am “re-learning” to do things a little different.

  1.  My bedroom was a complete and utter mess.  Being a writer I was always dragging books into my bedroom at night to either read or write and then they hung around under my bed or in my wardrobe and even take my ipad to bed with me – all the while not realising that my sleep habits were being interrupted.  So what did I do?  I finally made the decision to move all those books out of my bedroom and into the office.  Why I hadn’t done this years before I do not know but there I was removing all pieces of paper from my “sanctuary”.  I also decided that when I do go to bed I take one item with me, mainly the book I was writing right now and that was it.  I still have the television in my room but at this time it’s not something I can move.  I have learned to turn it off though and spend quality time on my writing.  When I finish and want to turn off the light I put my book under the bed so it cannot be seen.  I can’t tell you how lovely my room is looking right now and I’m even working on improving it’s ambiance.
  2. The kitchen was my next port of call.  Every single night I’d just leave the dishes in the sink or wash them and leave them on the sink or the oven to dry and go to bed.  No more.  I take the time to clean up all the areas of my open plan living kitchen, family, dining area.  I don’t want to get up and have to clean and I don’t understand why I haven’t done this from the beginning.  I don’t like the look of mess and yet mess keeps appearing.  Why?  Because I tell myself I haven’t got enough time or worse yet I’ve become quite lazy and I don’t want to be considered that kind of person.

So here I am two habits down and while there are still days I let things creep in I am determined to win this one and create a habit (which I believe can take up to 3 months before it can be achieved) that is worthwhile and decluttering my life.

By just doing these two things my worry has dissipated quite considerably and I am finding I have more time for my books and writing or typing or working on something that means more to me.

What it has also taught me is that I have to be aware NOW of what I am doing, where I am going and stop putting myself on “auto pilot” to get to places and do things that are detrimental to my life’s energy.  I am not a robot and don’t want to be considered one at all.  I love what I do and by changing my thoughts and habits maybe the thoughts and habits at work can change and we can look forward to a more prosperous future.

Anything can happen if you have a positive attitude and believe change is coming.

That’s my sermon for today and I hope at least one person takes something from this and makes a positive change in their life today as well.  Here’s hoping.

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. I love to write and writing romance keeps me from going completely mad. I have found a job that I absolutely love and there are times it affords me time to type out my stories since I write all my stories by hand - I'm never without a pen or book. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. The Law of Attraction is something very close to my heart and I can honestly say with certainty that it works for me. I am truly grateful for the life I have been given and continue to enjoy. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s amazing how stress, habit and worry are so intertwined

  1. utesmile says:

    That is great, what a day off can do is fantastic. Keep it up. I am still decluttering too.. constantly really. Soon I have a jumble sale with all stuff I put away.

Leave a Reply

