What is it with people in peak hour traffic?

Today was just like another day.  Got up, showered, got ready for work, got in the car and started the 22 minute journey to the office.  Yeah right!  Sure enough things didn’t go as planned.  Some large truck on the freeway burst into flames and all inbound lanes to the city were blocked.  

There is nothing you can do.  All people trying to get into the city had to find other ways to avoid the freeway so, of course, they detoured to my lovely route.   There is nothing more I could do about it but sit in traffic and deal with it.    

It’s a shame so many other drivers don’t have the same attitude.  They are almost panicked into action.  Zipping in and out of lanes that move no further than a car length every five minutes.  Finally a couple of them got the on ramp of the freeway to get on, obviously unaware that they wouldn’t get to the next off ramp any time soon.  

Then you get the ones who can’t wait for the traffic so when there’s a green light they park themselves right in the middle of the intersection just as the light turns amber and then red.  So now they’ve blocked the traffic coming from another direction.    

For years I had to sit in traffic and would get so annoyed and frustrated with people and my horn would go off more times than I care to admit but then one day I saw a young guy drive very fast past me, zipping in and out of the traffic to finally get to the end of the road and guess what?  I drove up and realised I was beside him.

Just recently in the early morning, I watched an almost accident in a roundabout.  One guy didn’t give way to a big truck.  What I observed made me wonder.  The truck driver abused the car in the round about, honking his horn, and then the truck driver passed the car on a busy stretch of road and slowed down to abuse him again.  What did it achieve?  The car still traveled to its destination and the truck driver was now in a bad mood and would probably find himself in that mood for the rest of the day.

No matter how much we try there is no point in rushing.  We will all get there in the end and that’s when my attitude changed.  Strangely that too is when the traffic seemed to ease up and I was able to get to work or home again with ease.  Sure it might have taken an extra 10 minutes or so on some days but what was the point of being upset?   I’m now home, safe and sound, I’ve got my PJ’s on and I’m snuggling underneath a blanket to watch a favourite movie.  Alls right with the world.

Everyone really needs to stop and smell the roses or the only thing they’ll be seeing is the roses on the side of the road where they crashed their car and killed themselves or someone else.

 

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. What do I want to do? I have my new house and am enjoying making it my own but now I am looking for the right job for me after 10 years of being "just a receptionist". I don't want to be "JUST" anything anymore. I would like a job that helps me grow personally, something that encourages me to learn but also where I can be creative and people appreciate me. I want, I want, I want but really I need to know that I am comfortable in my own skin and my life means something to me. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

