How to approach a job you’re not sure about.

It’s been almost a year – June 1st, 2015 when I joined the company and there is something “missing” and I am really confused about what to do about it.

13801_905876539454145_439856741611955092_nThis is something I had been looking for after three years of being “just a receptionist with nothing to do” and yet it hasn’t turned out exactly the way I would have liked.  The people are lovely but all are young enough to be my children and I really have nothing in common with them, even at lunch, I either go to lunch alone or they are all sitting at the table on their “phones” and conversation has become a dying art.  I try to talk but then there’s that inevitable silence.  There is no communication.  

Sitting in the reception area means I am cut off from the “conversations” that go on and I hear them all laughing and talking but no one seems to want to include me.  I could get up and go in and join the talk but when I realise what they are talking about I’m of no use in that conversation.  

I am doing accounts, something I don’t know a lot about but I have been learning quite a lot and quite enjoying being able to balance things.  But, I’m spending the days with a boss who is a child and she keeps giving me work.  Being a person who was in charge of an area before this is a little belittling.    

Working for a small company that is increasing exponentially I wonder whether it’s a good idea.  They have gone from a staff of 9 to a staff on 19 in just under a year.  This has meant also that while work is coming in we our cash flow is minimal we don’t have a lot of money to pay the subcontractors who work for us.  We are forever following up on payments from people which I find very hard to do but it “has to be done.”   Added to that I work for two guys who are passionate about their work but they are still children who ‘can’t spell’ – something I pride myself on.  I am a very organised person who comes from an era where we would have taken things slowly and not employed so many people so quickly until we had the MONEY IN THE BANK.  They are doing very well and have just purchased new properties and cars at a cost of over $3M.  I’m not jealous and congratulate them for fulfilling their dreams but…..

397126_10151379285082650_768942640_nI took this job because I wanted it and actually went down in pay to get it so now I’m out of pocket $2,000 a year, plus I’ve learned that everyone who has been employed after me is getting more money and this includes a couple of 21 year old males.  I’m now doing a job I’m not really sure I like – how do I turn it around? 

 

PROS AND CONS?

PROS

  • Not far from home
  • Parking on site
  • Because I get to work an hour early, I can leave 15 minutes early every day and get to leave at 4:00 pm every Friday
  • I have time to time up my novels

CONS

  • Not a lot of work that is exciting, nothing I can sink my teeth into.
  • Not sure I really like the job
  • The people are so young and I’m very much alone “Everyone calls me “Mum” don’t want to be the mum, it’s not my job, they all have one each.
  • I spend my time cleaning the kitchen because no one likes to do that job.
  • I get to do jobs that no one else really wants

Oh well, until I can get my head around why I don’t like it I guess I’m here for a little longer.  Wish me luck, I think I’m going to need it.

 

 

 

 

 

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. I love to write and writing romance keeps me from going completely mad. I have found a job that I absolutely love and there are times it affords me time to type out my stories since I write all my stories by hand - I'm never without a pen or book. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. The Law of Attraction is something very close to my heart and I can honestly say with certainty that it works for me. I am truly grateful for the life I have been given and continue to enjoy. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to approach a job you’re not sure about.

  1. utesmile says:

    You will make it, just stick with it and take it easy. I feel the same and not sure what to do . My job changed so much. Keep your options open if something else comes along… you never know…go for that. All the best!

Leave a Reply

