What to say on Australia Day

I love Australia – not because I was born here and lived here all my life but because I love the lifestyle, the people, the land and the feeling that I belong.  I’d never want to live anywhere else.

You can be anyone you like and everyone likes everyone else.  We’re relaxed, fun loving and “take thimage-map-examplee piss” out of everything.  No “Toffee Nosed People” can last three minutes in the presence of an Aussie because they’re brought back down to earth with a thud.

If you want to “get away from it all” this is where you need to come.  Beautiful landscapes, interesting cities and a few stories to go along with the history that is my home.

I was born in 1959 – I remember playing in the backyard of one of five houses in a street.  I remember walking to school.  I also remember walking home from ballet class by myself at the age of 7, unaware that I was supposed to go home with a neighbour.  (They didn’t tell me that my mum wasn’t picking me up).

I have fond memories of setting fire to myself as a four year old and being taken to hospital where a friend and I tried to climb into bassinets which had sick babies in them.

imagesI remember a swimming pool being put up by the local Apex Club that my father was a member.  I remember helping make sandwiches for the Apex guys as they helped renovate an old house for the Country Women’s Association.

I remember buying my first house in a street with three other houses and waking up to find a cow in my front garden.  Now the cows have been replaced by a highway.

There is still so much land and houses available if you’re willing to go that little bit further but you can always appreciate the fact that in Melbourne – there are always four seasons in one day and no two days are the same.

Australia is called the “Lucky Country” for a good reason and worth a visit every single time.

I have tjock and may mcoristo thank my Grandfather Jock McOrist for coming to Australia from Scotland and marrying my grandmother May Carkeek so that I could have the wonderful life I have today.

 

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. I love to write and writing romance keeps me from going completely mad. I have found a job that I absolutely love and there are times it affords me time to type out my stories since I write all my stories by hand - I'm never without a pen or book. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. The Law of Attraction is something very close to my heart and I can honestly say with certainty that it works for me. I am truly grateful for the life I have been given and continue to enjoy. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

