Heat and Cold – how do you deal with it?

I’m a size 16 lady – not too big but definitely NOT small.  Being 55 means that I’m also in the hot flashes period of my life (oh joy).  My biggest problem is weather both inside and outside.

Starting a n44429_10151411267054180_1976596462_new job is exciting and you want to look your best, but the new job is in a converted warehouse.  They have put in offices and heating but the heating doesn’t start to work until midday.  Just today I was in a knitted top, jacket and jeans and still freezing.  My desk is made of concrete (if you can believe it) – and it’s immovable which means that I am hitting my knees on it and it’s cold too.

My problem?  What do you wear to work when it’s freezing inside and out but I have hot flashes at least 7 an hour?  I’ve got a small heater but all it does is warm my toes.  Tomorrow I have decided to wear a skivvy underneath another knitted top and jeans and hope like hell it’s not too hot because it’s a little too high around the neck which gets me itchy.

No matter what I decide I’m either going to freeze or overheat inside as well as outs1426561_670516106334688_714459979_nide.  I just can’t win.

In Melbourne there’s no real reason to buy a good winter coat.  Our winters are not that bad and when going somewhere you just have to walk a short distance to the shop or home or office so I might just have to take a blanket and wear it around my legs.

Wish me luck.  (I’ll let you know whether I get the flu or not – HA HA)

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. What do I want to do? I have my new house and am enjoying making it my own but now I am looking for the right job for me after 10 years of being "just a receptionist". I don't want to be "JUST" anything anymore. I would like a job that helps me grow personally, something that encourages me to learn but also where I can be creative and people appreciate me. I want, I want, I want but really I need to know that I am comfortable in my own skin and my life means something to me. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heat and Cold – how do you deal with it?

  1. utesmile says:

    It is tricky. I am a cardigan lady, love my cardigans. Luckily I am spared the hot flushes… I am a ear younger than you. I cannot believe a concrete desk… I would wear warm stuff and then have a Japanese fan to cool down when a hot flush comes… No????

Leave a Reply

