Life’s funny…..

You spend a lot of time worrying about things – how you can’t lose weight, or how can you afford to replace the tyres on your car that needs to be done, or how to pay for the food on your table or how long will it take to get THE job that you’ve always wanted?10858367_781510945262965_5472380892075736046_n

Then you have it all.  You are losing weight, slowly but surely, there’s a payment plan available for the tyres, the food is on special this week and you have enough in the bank to cover it AND you have the job you’ve always wanted. It’s a small company, only 13 people including yourself (my favourite number), the company is growing exponentially and you are going to fit in quite nicely.  They buy you all the things you need to do your job properly, they bend over backwards for you and then comes the BUT…..

But you’ve been there a couple of weeks and no one says anything to you about how you’re doing?  You are just plodding along in the hopes that you are doing your job in a satisfying manner.

Obviously they are all busy doing their jobs, some are new, they’ve been there a couple of months and they are friendly but there’s friendly and then there’s work colleagues.  I’m the front desk, the all rounder, the one that does the work behind the scenes.  I’ve always been in large companies so there is always a lot going on but this is small, understandably they’re all trying to make this work and put their own stamp on things. The girl I am replacing has stepped up from Office Manager to Marketing Manager so there’s opportunity for anyone with ambition (I’m not one of them) BUT it would be nice if someone said something like, “You’re exactly what we needed.” OR “You’re fitting in quite 14065_848554818524331_8460130399174003687_nnicely.” OR EVEN “Thank you for coming on board.”

I think it boils down to me.  I’m paranoid because I lost my last two jobs – both to redundancies but by the time I left, all my work was gone so I sat doing nothing.  I don’t want it to happen again.  I want to be busy.  I want to walk in the door at 9.00 and still be working at 5.00.  I don’t want to sit there and do nothing and I want to help. Help make other peoples jobs easier for them.  It’s a challenge, and I’m definitely up for it.

This is exactly the job I wanted because I can create my own position within the company and I lov299700_439965276084202_451465461_ne the support role so I guess the only opinion that matters is my own.  I have to accept that I’m not always going to get recognition or compliments – I guess I’m just going to have to support and compliment myself and hopefully it’s good enough for them, because this is something I’ve wanted for a very long time and I know I can make it work for me and certainly for the company.

WISH ME LUCK!!!

 

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. I love to write and writing romance keeps me from going completely mad. I have found a job that I absolutely love and there are times it affords me time to type out my stories since I write all my stories by hand - I'm never without a pen or book. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. The Law of Attraction is something very close to my heart and I can honestly say with certainty that it works for me. I am truly grateful for the life I have been given and continue to enjoy. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life’s funny…..

  1. utesmile says:

    Great you got a job and you like it. You can make the job as you prefer if they leave you the freedom to do so. Lucky you. Surely eventually they give you a pad n the back… until then do it yourself, because you know you are working well and you are amazing! … pad on the back for you….

Leave a Reply

