Going back to school after 30 years, was it worthwhile?

I have wanted to go back to school for quite some time, why?  Because I felt that something was missing from my working life.  I decided it was a perfect time and I thought the idea of doing a Business Administration Certificate -Medical was an opportunity I couldn’t pass up.  First of all the course was for four weeks, four days a week and only cost me $35.00 because it was Government Funded.  I didn’t necessarily want to work in a medical practice but I thought if an opportunity like this opened up for me then there would be some parts of the course that would be good for me so I made the decision to go.  

For four weeks I attended class every day.  There were fourteen people in the class on the first day, varied ages and genders but it started out fine.  I actually understood what was going on and how to answer the questions asked. By the end of the week we lost four people.  The second week I got a different teacher and things started to get a little hairy.  First of all, it turned out that the Business Administration course also included management sections.  Now I was no manager and yet I was supposed to do assignments and create work that a manager would normally do.  Very weird.  If I wanted to be a Manager I would have become one in my 30s not in my 50s.

By the third week, with now approximately 6 people in the class every day I found it was getting a little more difficult.  Probably because it started on the medical terminology, something I was not interested in but had to do to get through the course.  Again, I felt it was more an opportunity to find out what I didn’t want to do but had to pass the assignments in order to pass the course.

The final week arrived and I realised that I was the only person who attended this course EVERY SINGLE DAY!  There were people who came and never came back or turned up when they wanted to.  I didn’t understand that level of commitment.  I came to learn so I made it my mission to stick it out until the end.  

Here I am four weeks later, I have submitted all my assignments (I know of only one other person who has submitted all of theirs).  I have had three returned and I will go through them, make the necessary changes and re-submit them but…. 

After all that I realised that nothing can compare to working in the “big bad world”.  No job comes out of a book.  The questions asked were based on American teachings.  Every single question asked had me OVER THINKING the answers which became quite frustrating since I read the learner guides but I still seemed to be wrong.  Even when discussing it with the teacher I kept thinking that these questions would not be asked in a business environment and if they were you could get simple answers and eventually understand what they wanted of you.

The questions and case studies asking us to produce feedback forms and newsletters for staff I would never have was laughable but again, I still felt obliged to continue with the course.

The course did provide me with a knowledge of some things I was interested in which was Microsoft Excel & Word and for that I was grateful.

The course is now over and I know that I did learn a few things I would never have learned if I hadn’t have gone, in fact, I worked more in four weeks than I did in an entire year at work and for that I am truly grateful.

Government Funded courses like this are few and far between and I will definitely be investigating them a little more in depth in the future, if I decide to do another course but I believe that nothing teaches us more than the job itself.  You can’t learn what I know from a book and I have been truly blessed in my life but I also believe that courses like this do have a place, I just wish that the courses came from real life teachings and not out of a book.  

So after all that, would I do it again?  Probably not.  I know I’m capable of getting a job on my own merits but at least I had something to do for four weeks after I was made redundant and I felt like I achieved something — only time will tell whether it made a difference in my life but I don’t regret it for one single second.    

 

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. I love to write and writing romance keeps me from going completely mad. I have found a job that I absolutely love and there are times it affords me time to type out my stories since I write all my stories by hand - I'm never without a pen or book. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. The Law of Attraction is something very close to my heart and I can honestly say with certainty that it works for me. I am truly grateful for the life I have been given and continue to enjoy. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

