It was here and now it’s gone

Christmas is over for another year – wow, it happened so fast, I blinked and missed it.

What I found this year, however, that apart from being with family I didn’t appreciate it as much as I would have liked and it all had to do with the people around me.  They were all so miserable.  The festive season was no longer festive and no matter how hard I tried no one really wanted to get into the spirit.  I asked one person how she would spend Christmas and she told me “sitting on my couch getting drunk!”  that’s when she told me that when she and her mother get together they “always” argue.  Seriously?  Is this what Christmas has boiled down to?

10858406_761514667260646_5158612441581514993_nEven today, Boxing Day, is the time for “Boxing Day Sales” and people will be rushing in to return or replace gifts, buy gifts they don’t really want (just to get a bargain) or buy Christmas decorations for NEXT YEAR which they probably won’t even use.  Seriously?

I have spent the last 24 hours alone – both kids are off doing their own thing and I sat through a couple of Christmas Movies and had a good cry but I did sit down to appreciate what I had and I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m the luckiest girl in the world.  I have a wonderful house, two great kids and a family that would do anything for me and I would do anything for them.  I’ve had many ups and downs this year but I’ve come out of it stronger than I ever thought possible.  I’m alone but I’m not lonely.  I don’t need a partner to “make me whole”.  I am grateful for everything I have whether it was good or bad and I don’t worry as much any more about the future.

I’m here now because of the choices I have made and I think they’ve been good ones.  The future is not set in stone and I have the choice to be courageous or crawl under the covers and not come out again until the sun comes up but all in all I’ve become the best version of myself and I attribute that to my new found passion for life.   I can’t make it any simpler than that. 11381_10152750369397819_2470019829738709478_n

Happy New Year to everyone – may it bring you all the possibilities the world can ever know and Don’t forget to be in the moment NOW!  Too many people are planning their future and forgetting about what’s going on in their present. 

Life’s great – MAKE THE MOST OF IT!

10391369_502693899873900_7337723617153281971_n

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. What do I want to do? I have my new house and am enjoying making it my own but now I am looking for the right job for me after 10 years of being "just a receptionist". I don't want to be "JUST" anything anymore. I would like a job that helps me grow personally, something that encourages me to learn but also where I can be creative and people appreciate me. I want, I want, I want but really I need to know that I am comfortable in my own skin and my life means something to me. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It was here and now it’s gone

  1. utesmile says:

    Shame about what Christmas is for some people … getting drunk… oh no. Christmas is unfortunately too commercialized and with the sales on boxing day …. all to make more money. Well let me say that I spent a beautiful time with my mother and sister, (the small family I have) and we made music , we sang and had a calm, peaceful time. I loved it so much. I t was not about presents but being together and spend quality time together.
    Wishing you a wonderful and happy healthy new year, enjoy every moment and love your life!

Leave a Reply

