People are not numbers…

Pepsico (Global) has owned Smiths Snackfood for as long as I’ve been working there and it was fantastic, however, three years ago they updated the Australian systems to be in line with the rest of the world and suddenly I became “20620058” – they call it a GPid.  Don’t ask me what a GPid is but since that time I’ve been treated like a number and not a person.

Companies are made up of people, Top Management, Middle Management, Management and then the workers.  The lowly people who “do all the work” so that their bosses can take the credit.

Customer Service, the people who answer the customers queries, however, they don’t have all the information to hand because the Managers in each state don’t understand the processes with which to get all their information together and send it to Customer Service.

The Administration people who makes sure all the customers names, addresses, relevant information is in the system, however, they don’t always have all the information because the State Managers don’t both to follow up on this and find out how much information they know.

And then there’s me.  Little old Receptionist in Dandenong, Victoria, I’ve worked for the Sales team for 10 years.  The only Admin person in Australia (from what I understand) who keeps a record of all the reps out in the field, their telephone numbers and what run they are on.  I keep their truck registrations on a spreadsheet so that I can follow up and pay the road toll account, pay the Australia Post, Courier Service and even pay the credit card bills (making sure everyone puts in their receipts).  I am the GO TO GIRL who can answer all questions from “Who do I call when I have had a car accident?” to “Where can I get some boxes to pack up my office?”

I’m sure there are others like me, however, no one knows what I do.  In 20 days I will have been made redundant from the job I have loved for 10 years and not one person has asked me what I do or how I do it.

So what happens when I leave?  Who pays the bills that are left behind?  Who is going to be the new 20620058?  Maybe it’s 20620059?  All I know is that a company this big has to stop worrying about Sales and how much money their investors are getting or how much money the CEO can get each year and start admitting that they can’t do any of it without the “Indians”.  Yep, too many chiefs and not enough Indians if you ask me.  But wait, no one is asking me.

I am sorry to leave like this because I’ve been very proud of the work I’ve done.  People know who I am, whether they’ve spoken to me or not, mainly because I follow up and ensure that information gets to the right people, at the right time.  They haven’t replaced me “yet” so the new “me” will be starting from scratch and I wish them well.  I do hope that the company starts to appreciate the people they are leaving behind and realises that nothing works without the workers, actually people who put in 9 hour days just like those managers who work to get an office, those managers who work to get staff working for them.

People make up a business, we’re not numbers, we’re an integral part of the system and I’m sorry that Pepsico are too busy worrying about the bottom line to worry about the “bottom of the barrel workers”.

It’s been a pleasure to work for Smiths Snackfood Co. Ltd. Dandenong but if asked I wouldn’t recommend working for a big Global Company Again, they lost the best part of themselves – their souls.

People tell me “Don’t worry about it, it’s not your concern any more” but hey, I’m old school.  I like to leave a job better than I found it,it’s just a shame that the people I work for or “worked for” don’t value integrity any more.

I wish them all luck and it’s onward and upward from here on in.  I’m really looking forward to the change that is coming, 2015 is going to be my year – I am excited about the future and know that I learned enough in my last job to appreciate and be appreciated in my next one.  I will shine again!

Thank you.

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. I love to write and writing romance keeps me from going completely mad. I have found a job that I absolutely love and there are times it affords me time to type out my stories since I write all my stories by hand - I'm never without a pen or book. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. The Law of Attraction is something very close to my heart and I can honestly say with certainty that it works for me. I am truly grateful for the life I have been given and continue to enjoy. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to People are not numbers…

  1. utesmile says:

    That is very strange, they might not replace you and try and safe money as our council does too. They make people redundant and don’t replace them but add work to other people.
    Still you can be proud of what you have done the last 10 years … you are not just a number! You are unique and they will notice once you are gone!

Leave a Reply

