Terrorism at my front door

I’m sure everyone has heard about the young 18 year old who attacked two policeman at Endeavour Hills Police Station this week, but what a lot of people don’t know is that I just moved out of there and had lived there over 20 years.  In fact, I visit that police station to get official documents signed because it’s the quietest station in Melbourne.  There is never anyone there, it’s right next to a child care centre and it’s a bugger to get to.

Has the world gone to hell in a hand basket?  What did we do to create this kid and make him do what he did?

I have never considered myself a racist but this was in my own backyard and the question goes out, how did this happen?  Had the kid lived here most of his life? Or had he and his family moved here to “recruit” the masses?  Why pick Endeavour Hills?

So many people have been asking why but my heart goes out to his own people who came to Australia to escape terrorism and make new lives for themselves in Australia and, in particular, Endeavour Hills.  My kids friends still live there and they have Muslim friends who are terrified to go out, for fear of being abused or worse.  It’s not their fault!  The kid’s passport was cancelled.  What?  Why?  If he wants to be like them then send him home and THEN cancel his passport so he can’t come back.

Terrorism watch is at its highest right now in Endeavour Hills and we were ill equipped to deal with it.  There is security at Endeavour Hills Shopping Centre – right next door and yet the Security Teams didn’t know what to do.  They didn’t advise anyone working at McDonalds, Coles or Safeway what was going on and even my son’s girlfriend finished work and drove home, only to be stopped by three police cars and questioned as to how she got that far.  Not one security guard or policeman stopped her from walking downstairs to her car and driving out of an area that had over 100 policeman and the police helicopter over head.

I hate fire drills at work but surely this was a perfect opportunity to perform one to ensure the safety of all ‘innocent people” buying food, supplies and general household items for their families.

We shouldn’t have to be afraid to go outside and yet these kinds of isolated incidents just make it harder for us to trust and appreciate even our own neighbours.

Don’t let fear keep you inside.  Make an effort to speak to a neighbour, just to say hi.  What could it hurt?  Maybe it’s the opportunity to change someone’s perception of things.

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. What do I want to do? I have my new house and am enjoying making it my own but now I am looking for the right job for me after 10 years of being "just a receptionist". I don't want to be "JUST" anything anymore. I would like a job that helps me grow personally, something that encourages me to learn but also where I can be creative and people appreciate me. I want, I want, I want but really I need to know that I am comfortable in my own skin and my life means something to me. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

