Another day down

I’ve spent the morning buying up plants for a nursery that is closing down and then, of course, they had to come home with me and then I had to plant them.  The weather is stunning here in Melbourne, Australia with a lovely temperature of 27 degrees predicted at the hottest time of the day.

Once the plants were in, I did a load of washing, hung it out, brought in the dry stuff and then emptied the dishwasher before finally sitting down at my computer.

02Boring right?  Not to me.  Every day is another day to be excited about being alive.

Just last week I was diagnosed with Diabetes Type 2 (the lower form of diabetes) and frankly it has yet to faze me.  I have been a big girl most of my life and loved sugar – those two things alone combined make me join the 1 in 30 women over the age of 45 who get the disease.

What is funnier still is that I am doing Weight Watchers and have been for over six months (obviously I knew this was coming) and have already lost 12 kilos so I’m on the right track.

I do, however, have to visit a podiatrist (did you know that your feet were of major concern with diabetes?  I didn’t); an optometrist to keep an eye on my eye sight, an exercise guru and of course a dietitian.  Now this is going to be a truly interesting experience.  Many years ago I visited a dietitian and basically was told “Here are the five food groups – you can have this group and maybe that group and of course some of them and keep away from carbohydrates …” and with that she sent me on my way.  Not this time.  I’m alot older and frankly I wouldn’t know a kilojule from a carbohydrate if you asked me.

I need to know what I can and can’t eat.  Give me food!  Real food and talk to me like I’m a kid.  I am so sick and tired of people talking in these terms when all I want to know is if I can have some chocolate and if so, what kind!  People are too focused on all the “technical terms” for things that they forget that there are real people out here who don’t give a flying fig about what they are talking about.  I doubt if the dietitian is going to like me after this.  But as expected she’ll get paid for basically being of no use whatsoever!7 rules of life

The exercise guru too might have another problem with me considering the only exercise I am interested in is walking.  I don’t do GYMS – I don’t dance and I certainly don’t do groups so again I think this is going to be an interesting exercise.

Having said all that I will definitely be paying attention to my health from now on.  Obviously it’s a matter of life or death in some instances so I doubt I’m going to do anything stupid.

At least now I have another reason to lose weight and look absolutely fabulous.

What more can a girl ask for?

Now all I have to do is find another job and I’ll be in “Hog Heaven!”  Such a shame that most of the people who do work like me are being replaced by someone in China or India.  I guess I’m going to have to work on a new career next.

15418Oh well, another day down.  Can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings……

 

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. I love to write and writing romance keeps me from going completely mad. I have found a job that I absolutely love and there are times it affords me time to type out my stories since I write all my stories by hand - I'm never without a pen or book. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. The Law of Attraction is something very close to my heart and I can honestly say with certainty that it works for me. I am truly grateful for the life I have been given and continue to enjoy. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

