We need to step back and just breathe!!!!

It’s Sunday for God’s sake!!!!!  It means that this is the day he rested so why the hell can’t everyone else.

  1. At a store and there is only one person serving.  I’m waiting in line, not bothering anyone when the man behind me says “I’d complain about the service but there isn’t any” to which I replied “It’s Sunday, when we relax”.  He muttered something and I said “you’re obviously due somewhere”.   “Yes I’m going to spend the day with my grandson.  That’s if I can get out of here”. It’s Sunday right ?  If he knew he was going to spend the day with his grandson, why the hell didn’t he go to the shop on Saturday?  TOO BUSY?? Had something more important than his grandson to do.
  2. So I came home and cleaned up my wardrobe – taking my time and just relaxing.  I then decided it was a beautiful day for a walk so here I go for an hour and a half – no computers, no phones, just me and nature.   So I go for a walk to the local golf course, where men go out and hit a little white ball with a long stick and what do I see?  A guy, probably mid 20’s on the putting green, club in one hand hitting that silly little white ball and the other held to his ear along with his mobile phone.  OMGosh – its Sunday!! He can’t leave it at home for a couple of hours and enjoy the game?
  3. This reminds me too of a couple of months ago when I was coming home and there on the side of the ride was a father and son with their bikes.  The little boy chomping at the bit, jumping from ones side of his bike to the other because his father is standing right beside him on his mobile phone.  for God’s sake, it’s a day to spend time with your son.  Whether he was married with his family, a single father or a divorced father he should have left the bloody phone at home.
What was wrong with these people?  Why is technology/work so important to them.  Don’t get me wrong I’m all for technology and I’m doing courses to improve my knowledge on all this new “hardware/software” but there should be a time and a place for everything and at least one day a week you should make the effort to give up your mobile phone and just relax.  Give up work for one day and spend it with the family!  What major thing could go wrong if you “forgot your phone”?
There is a time and a place for everything and people are forgetting to “stop, slow down and smell the roses” – it’s a shame because one day something will happen and you can’t use a time machine!!!

I always remember the Tim McGraw song  “LIVE LIKE YOU WERE DYING”

I just hope he didn’t take his phone!


He said   “I was in my early forties
With a lot of life before me
And a moment came that stopped me on a dime
I spent most of the next days
Looking at the x-rays
Talkin’ ’bout the options
And talkin’ ’bout sweet time”
I asked him
“When it sank in
That this might really be the real end
How’s it hit you
When you get that kind of news?
Man, what’d you do?”

He said
“I went skydiving
I went Rocky Mountain climbing
I went 2.7 seconds on a bull named Fu Man Chu
And I loved deeper
And I spoke sweeter
And I gave forgiveness I’d been denying”
And he said
“Someday I hope you get the chance
To live like you were dying”
He said
“I was finally the husband
That most of the time I wasn’t
And I became a friend a friend would like to have
And all of a sudden going fishin’
Wasn’t such an imposition

And I went three times that year I lost my dad
I finally read the Good Book, and I
Took a good, long, hard look
At what I’d do if I could do it all again
And then….

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. What do I want to do? I have my new house and am enjoying making it my own but now I am looking for the right job for me after 10 years of being "just a receptionist". I don't want to be "JUST" anything anymore. I would like a job that helps me grow personally, something that encourages me to learn but also where I can be creative and people appreciate me. I want, I want, I want but really I need to know that I am comfortable in my own skin and my life means something to me. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

