Shopping – Love it and Hate it

I love to go shopping – not necessarily to buy anything but just to walk around the stores and admire so many things.  My shopping centre has just had a major renovation so there were people everywhere, sure it was raining outside and basically they had no where else to go but it was fun checking out all the stores.

Alot of people don’t do physical shopping any more because it’s all here, online, just waiting for us to buy something but I’m “old school” I need to get out there, take a look at it, pick it up, check the colour, texture and look of it before I buy anything.

Today there were so many shops to consider, I could have bought anything but I didn’t, in fact, I came to the realisation I didn’t NEED anything and this was a moment that hit me very hard.  I wanted alot but I didn’t NEED anything.

I have alot of things and even now I would like a new table but it’s something I want.  I’m not in a hurry to get it and can wait for a sale.

I am shocked to discover, no matter what I looked at, I was able to walk away.  I have been buying things for the sake of buying them because they were there.

I’m growing up.  I’m appreciating the things I have already and my walk around the many and varied stores made me realise that I don’t have to buy anything.   That I can enjoy the place for what it is – entertainment.  And entertaining it is, watching parents trying to keep control of their kids, people who get to the bottom of an escalator and stop because they don’t know where they’re going, unaware of the hundreds of people behind them trying to get off.  The people who decide to take prams into stores that are only as big as a broom closet and the people who are there to browse but can’t get round the pram.  The people who walk down the corridor holding hands with the entire family and taking up all the space that no one can pass them especially when they walking soooooo sloooooow!!

I love it all.  But today I also realised that since I’m trying to lose weight, walking around a shopping centre is also good and bad.  Bad because I can smell food and want to buy something but have the control not to – control?  Is it control or is it the woman who stepped out of these food stores looking like she should be joining me at Weight Watchers.   That does sound rather insulting and it’s not meant to be but it seemed that the universe was telling me something every time I thought of buying a donut or some chocolate concoction that yelled out “try me”!

Weight Loss is a personal thing, I’m doing it not only to fit into a dress for the first time in 30 years but also because of my health.  I have high blood pressure (a recent visit to the doctor telling me it’s levelling off) and I’m prone to diabetes if I’m not careful so hey! I need to lose the weight and make sure I eat healthy – I’m just sorry that some other people haven’t come to that realisation yet.  I certainly hope they do before it’s too late.

Shopping is a healthy way for me to appreciate what I have and know that it’s there if I want it but hey!  I’m not in a hurry to get it.  So I love it and hate it but I’m still smiling and that’s something to be grateful for.

 

 

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. What do I want to do? I have my new house and am enjoying making it my own but now I am looking for the right job for me after 10 years of being "just a receptionist". I don't want to be "JUST" anything anymore. I would like a job that helps me grow personally, something that encourages me to learn but also where I can be creative and people appreciate me. I want, I want, I want but really I need to know that I am comfortable in my own skin and my life means something to me. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

