Is there an in between when it comes to computers/technology and life?

I love computers.  I love typing on them, in fact, I actually type faster than I can write so it comes in handy.  I bought a smaller, lighter computer so I could sit in bed and write at night.  I love how I can surf the net for just about anything in the world and as I have my own blog it helps to get my thoughts out there and certainly out of my head.

BUT….  As I am getting older I am finding that I don’t NEED the computer as much as I used to.  I have access to a computer all day at work.  I can do most everything I want to do and then I shut down at 5.00 pm.  When I get home my kids are on the internet telling me about things that happened during the day and I turn on the TV and sure enough there are the same things again that were featured all day on the net.

I have a mobile phone but don’t have it on during the day because I’m at work and people can phone me or as it has become common, email me.  I go home and turn my mobile off because again, I have a land line.

BUT… There is a moment in my life when I have to say ENOUGH!!!

I drove home the other day and there on the side of the road was a man riding his bike with his son – it should have been bonding time between them, however, they were stopped because the man had to STOP and answer his mobile phone, later I saw a morning jogger answer his mobile phone and keep running.  WHY?  Why is it necessary to make time to relax and then take the bloody phone with you.  What?  People can’t do without you for an hour or two?  Seriously?  Have we come so far that we don’t remember how to relax?

Not long ago we didn’t have a mobile phone or internet – we didn’t have the access to all those things we can’t seem to live without today and yet we were still OK.  The world didn’t end if you didn’t answer the phone after the first 10 rings so why is it necessary to think of technology as a life line today?

I now come home and yes I check my home emails because I don’t have access to them at work and there are friends contacting me but I limit this to 15 minutes.  Emailing the personal ones to my work computer where I will answer them tomorrow and then I TURN THE BLOODY THING OFF.

I have decided that technology will NOT run my life.  I can do that all on my own.  I make sure that if I get an email from someone in the office I will get up, using my two left feet and walk over to answer their questions.  I make sure I limit the time texting and I don’t plan on getting a mobile phone that DOES EVERYTHING – EVER!!!  It’s a phone for God’s Sake!  It’s something that I use either in an emergency or for my kids to contact me with.

Technology is fantastic and I’m the first to find out about something new but that doesn’t mean it runs my life.  My life is my own and I decide how many hours I spend on it.  Don’t let it control you.  Otherwise we might end up like those TERMINATOR movies and one day the machines will be controlling us.

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. What do I want to do? I have my new house and am enjoying making it my own but now I am looking for the right job for me after 10 years of being "just a receptionist". I don't want to be "JUST" anything anymore. I would like a job that helps me grow personally, something that encourages me to learn but also where I can be creative and people appreciate me. I want, I want, I want but really I need to know that I am comfortable in my own skin and my life means something to me. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

