TV RENOVATIONS

I love, love, love TV renovation shows – I can’t get enough of them because they give me some really good ideas for changes to be made to different parts of my house and frankly I have made some serious changes that turned out alright.

However, they really do spend more money than any of us can really afford to on cosmetic changes to houses.

I’m a novice, sure, but to buy plants is not an easy exercise.  Even LARGE POTS to put plants in, the cheapest could be $50.00 each plus the soil and the lovely plants they suggest which end up being at least $40.00 each. There’s an expense you can achieve, however, it’s this month’s ‘work in progress’ expense.  What to do next month.

Next month I spent $100 on curtains and curtain rods, hooks etc – another month went by.

Just this week I’ve spent $850 on a new carpet in ONE BEDROOM.  I’ve decided NOT to put all my furniture back in my bedroom but that now means I have to locate some more furniture – more expense.

Renovations are great if you have the money and they say you should spend at least 9% of the total price of your house every 7-10 years to keep it up to date and make sure there are no visible signs of decay if you would ever decide to sell.  Having said all that people have a hard time paying off a house let alone getting more money to spend on upgrades.  You have to take out an extension loan and then get the right person for the job.

I am in the process of updating a few items around the house.  Just this week I got a quote on two new toilets – $1,000 for two PLUS installation.  I need a plumber to put in a new kitchen faucet but they didn’t quote me on that.  I did, however, find one that I like at $198.00 so add installation to that and the cost increases.

I have two bathrooms – one white tiles with pale blue basin, spa bath & shower base AND a peach bathroom.  I cannot afford to repaint tiles plus they don’t come up looking quite well.  I am looking into get new shower screens, however, I also want to take a base out of the blue bathroom and as I have spare floor tiles I would love to extend the floor and then put a shower screen in where it was before.  Keeping it all clean lines.  Problem?  There is a company that is coming out to quote on shower screens but I doubt they do tiling.  Since I have the tiles I doubt a tiling company would come out so how do I deal?

Like I said Renovation shows are great if they give you information that is relevant to today’s people who really can’t afford the $2,000 renovation on a bathroom. 

They are great at telling you about the bookshelves you can buy flat packed which are approximately $80.00 each but then they can’t give you the name of the company that sells them. 

They talk about recycle centres where you can pick up a bargain but I don’t know of any place like that here in Melbourne and certainly they aren’t advertising online. 

These are the things we require to know more about.  The cheapest options rather than the overall affect.  I would love a new rug or a new chandelier but I cannot afford to buy them at the same time. 

I have plans to upgrade my house but I think it will take the same amount of time to pay it off as it does to upgrade on my budget.

Renovations are fun to watch but not as much fun when you have to fit the bill.

Enjoy your weekend!

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. I love to write and writing romance keeps me from going completely mad. I have found a job that I absolutely love and there are times it affords me time to type out my stories since I write all my stories by hand - I'm never without a pen or book. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. The Law of Attraction is something very close to my heart and I can honestly say with certainty that it works for me. I am truly grateful for the life I have been given and continue to enjoy. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

