Weight Watchers – good for me!!

I’ve just joined weight watchers again after 13 years.  The first time I lost 13 kilos, felt great but complained because I got down to 71 kilos and was told I had to get down to 65 because of my height.  Without that I couldn’t get to be a lifetime membership.   To me this was totally unacceptable because I was a “G” cup bra size and I never lost the weight off my breasts so I looked quite strange losing more weight off my body.  I felt a little like Dolly Parton.  Eventually I had to give it up because the cost of $20.00 per week to just get weighed was way over my budget considering I had two small children at the time.

Deborah Hutton, Australian Icon has wonderful taste in clothes and dresses her age.

Now, 13 years later I’m back.  I can afford to attend the meetings and have found it a completely new experience.

1.  My goal weight is again set at 65 kilos, however, my personal goal is to get to 71 kilos and if I achieve this I can get a doctor’s certificate and he can approve my goal weight as 71 kilos and Weight Watchers will make me a lifetime member.  YIPPEE!!  (I might have reduced my bra size but I still believe that 65 kilos is not an acceptable weight for me)

Deidre Hall, DAYS OF OUR LIVES, is another woman I admire, again always dressing with style and not trying to be younger than she is.

2.  The point system has changed too.  I no longer have to eat only 18 points worth.  The lowest you can have is 26, however, you also get a weekly allowance of 49 points which you can dip into across 7 days and then it starts all over again.  So you don’t have to give up the things you really really love.

3.  The cost.  There is a new on line system called UNLIMITED and for that you pay for a month in advance and it cost you $14.95 per week.  I’m in it to win it.

So now here I am into the second week.  I lost 1.3 kilos in the first week and am stoked, but you need incentive.  You need the chance to work through so many emotional issues as well as physical ones.

I have a work colleague I walk with every day at work who has gone on holidays for two weeks so right now my incentive is to lose weight so she will notice when she returns. I walked on Friday, for the first time, by myself at lunchtime.  Of course, it rained but I was lucky enough to get away with a 20 minute walk first.

The walking was never the issue but I have to keep in mind that this is winter and while I refuse to go to a gym (my age and size always been my biggest issues when it comes to gyms) the weather is always a big problem.  I walked Saturday in the rain with the dog and then had to come home and wash the dog and, of course, all my clothes which were dirty and wet.

Weight Watchers meals are plentiful but like everything that is healthy it is expensive.  It is hard to find food that is available every day for the least amount of money that is actually great to eat under the Weight Watchers scheme but hey, that’s all part of the mind blowing issues that belong to weight gain.  I have always had weight problems the only time I ever lost real weight was the very first time I fell in love, then gained it again when I broke up with the guy and the second was Weight Watchers just after I turned 40 and didn’t like what I looked like.

I haven’t  been ready again to lose the weight until now.  I have high blood pressure, I am vulnerable to heart disease and other ailments as I grow older but the main thing is that I don’t like me as much anymore.  I am a strong and capable woman and love life and love myself but haven’t truly accepted my age before.  I love clothes.  I love design.  I love shopping.  And all of this means that  to get the things I want I have to make some radical changes in my life and lifestyle.

I took on WW now because I needed to and was ready for change and intend seeing it through for a very long time.  It’s my new job along with all the others I do every day.

I can do this and I am ready to do this so anything after today is a plus and I don’t mean a plus size woman anymore.  I want to walk into ANY shop and know that there will be something in there that will fit me.  I no longer think negatively when it comes to clothes, I am positive I am going to find something I like and also like myself.

Wish me luck!!!

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. What do I want to do? I have my new house and am enjoying making it my own but now I am looking for the right job for me after 10 years of being "just a receptionist". I don't want to be "JUST" anything anymore. I would like a job that helps me grow personally, something that encourages me to learn but also where I can be creative and people appreciate me. I want, I want, I want but really I need to know that I am comfortable in my own skin and my life means something to me. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

