Why is swearing necessary?

As expected I made a comment that a person didn’t like on “Facebook”.  First of all I accept it was only one person and frankly it was my opinion – I’ve seen that she has an opinion on everything and I don’t necessarily agree with her opinions but her comment consisted of “F&^%&ing”.

Why?  Why was it necessary to swear?  First it made her look totally stupid.  Second it didn’t make me feel good and third I don’t know whether I want to stay connected to this small group.

I was having fun – I have some knowledge about this particular TV Show and enjoyed answering questions and putting in my two cents.

Now?  Apart from wanting to call her every name under the sun, but that would mean stooping to her level which is something I don’t want to do, I realised that what you write can be misconstrued.  Some people accept, others look for deeper meanings that aren’t really there.

I’ve been well known for opening my mouth and putting BOTH FEET in there and frankly, I am an extremely honest person which has upset people before but it’s not as if I intentionally want to upset people.  I love writing.  I love visiting Facebook.  I have exactly NINE friends because I prefer it that way.  I love looking for information on my favourite shows, inspirational quotes and photos all the things I seem to be able to find on Facebook without having all the necessary “daily updates on my life”.

This person has upset me.  I shouldn’t let her get to me but I have.  Yes I swear but I swear in context when I’m angry.  I prefer people not to swear and some of the “daily swear words” I honestly cannot say myself.  I have walked out of movies that have every second word a swear word because it detracts from the storyline.

Am I a prude for doing that?  Maybe I am.  I’m in my 50’s so I can appreciate an era where the only serious swear word I heard was “bum or bugger” and even then I would get into serious trouble for saying it.  Today my kids swear but at least they don’t swear within earshot of me and I’ve even got my work mates respecting my space.

So why is it that one woman who “wrote” the word has offended me more than I can say?

For the first time also I haven’t felt better for putting this out there.  Usually if I write it down it seems to leave me but right now it just leaves me with a bad taste in my mouth.  A shame, the small group of people I enjoyed talking to doesn’t hold so much enjoyment any more thanks to one person.

I’m not going to stop expressing my opinion and with the internet there are a lot of people who have a lot to say both good and bad and even then I don’t have a problem with that but swearing is their problem and I have a right to express my opinion in that regard.

Swearing for swearing’s sake is not on.  When you have a reason to swear go right ahead but this wasn’t the time.

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. I love to write and writing romance keeps me from going completely mad. I have found a job that I absolutely love and there are times it affords me time to type out my stories since I write all my stories by hand - I'm never without a pen or book. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. The Law of Attraction is something very close to my heart and I can honestly say with certainty that it works for me. I am truly grateful for the life I have been given and continue to enjoy. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

