Comfort Zone

How do you move out of your comfort zone gracefully.  I’ve been in the same job for 8 years.  I worked my arse off to basically look after the whole office and the field sales team.  Last September most of my work went to Sydney in an attempt to unify it all which meant that I lost 80% of my work but since I work alone at reception I still have a job.

We have also just been informed that the lease on the property is up in 2014 and that they are moving a lot of the stock to another distribution centre so obviously the writing is on the wall.

Now I go to work from 9-5, get paid for doing nothing and live only 15 minutes from work!!!

So what’s the problem you might ask?

I’m bored SHITLESS!!!  There is nothing work than going to work and counting mail or cleaning up the office or even laminating posters around the office.

BUT I don’t want to move on.  I like my job and hopefully things will get better but they can’t if the word is that they are moving to the other side of the city in 2014.  There is no chance I’ll get a redundancy in 2014 because my contract doesn’t allow for moving so basically I’ll be offered a job on the other side of town which I will refuse and they’ll say “bye bye”!

I’ve got the best of both worlds.  A huge office, by myself without anyone telling me what to do because I do it with my eyes closed so what do I do?

I’ve been online and of course, there aren’t any decent jobs around.  I’m in my 50’s and alot of people are looking for younger people to pay less.  I’ve been to agencies and they NEVER  CALL BACK so here I am sitting in front of a computer at home wondering what the hell am I going to do next?

Being that I’m now separated and NO PLANS to reunite with my husband means that I’m a single lady, in her 50’s, living in a house that I will eventually sell and probably won’t see too much of the proceeds.  It will be like starting out all over again.  At my age that isn’t an option.

So here I am trying to figure out my next step which should have been – stay at my job, pay off my house and live happily ever after.

No wait!  Only part of that is true because I believe I will live HAPPILY EVER AFTER.  I like me, I am very good at what I do and while I have to move on I don’t have to do it ‘right this second’!  So I shall take my time.  A job is out there for me and I’ll find it.  I’ll find a house that I can afford to pay for outright and won’t have to depend on working so hard to pay it off and then I can do everything I have always wanted to do and enjoy my life.

See, I knew writing this blog was a good thing.  Now I know what I want I am just going to have to go out and get it!!!

 

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. What do I want to do? I have my new house and am enjoying making it my own but now I am looking for the right job for me after 10 years of being "just a receptionist". I don't want to be "JUST" anything anymore. I would like a job that helps me grow personally, something that encourages me to learn but also where I can be creative and people appreciate me. I want, I want, I want but really I need to know that I am comfortable in my own skin and my life means something to me. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

