What to do with an overbearing daughter

I have a daughter (shock! horror!) Kimberley.  From a very early age she has been very independent and “controlling”.  So much so that at 10 years old I had her at a psychologist trying to stop her from “telling” her brother, father and mother how their lives should be run.  She was 10 for God sake.  What is also funny is that she had the psychologist fooled.  She went to the psychologist every Monday for two months and while she was pleasant the psychologist basically thought it was the family that had the problem.  Then, on the very last visit Kimberley let rip at me for the most insignificant thing and suddenly the psychologist wanted to see her again.  By this time we couldn’t afford to send Kimberley any more and that was it.

Time is a good healer and while she continued to be controlling we only had to deal with her  in short bursts so it wasn’t too bad.

Now fast forward to a 23 year old.  There’s me, mum, brother Benjamin and Kimberley living in the house. Kimberley is a Manager for McDonalds so she works long hours and unpredictable schedule.  I work full time 9-5.  Benjamin has just got a new job in IT and since they don’t have an office as yet he is working from home.

Frankly I thought this was the perfect life but then I didn’t account for “THE BITCH”.  Today I am calling her that.  She has just gone off the deep end.  Why?  Because she believes that she is the most important person in this house and that everyone should bow to her.  Frankly if I bowed I think I’d be swinging a bat on the way down.

Her day/s off are no longer her own because she has to share them with her brother.  She’s fine when he doesn’t speak to her but the moment he speaks she rings me and yells.

But today really got to me.  All three of us are at home.  I’ve collected clothes, washed them, put them on the line, brought them in, separated them and all she has to do is iron them and put them away for herself.  I’ve cleaned up around the house and also done some gardening.  She’s sat on her backside and watched TV and used her computer because “it’s her day off and she doesn’t have to do anything”.

I cook almost every night unaware whether both kids are going to be home because they don’t give me their schedules and yet here she is yelling “Benjamin gets away with everything, I do so much more than him and he needs to pay board because he doesn’t do as much as me!”

What the hell does she do?  She comes home, goes to her room, keeps her room clean.  She buys her own food and feeds herself her own lunch when she can.  She gathers the rubbish bags from the bins around the house ready for her brother to put out every Monday night and she keeps our DVD collection in alphabetical order (we have a huge collection don’t get me wrong) but who gives a flying fig?

Kimberley needs to worry about number 1 before she starts having a go at the parent and the brother.  Sure she and her brother are polar opposites and frankly I know that he gets away with a lot more, however, I would be willing to help her if she wasn’t such a controlling bitch!

Don’t get me wrong I love her.  When she’s not a blue eyed monster she is quite delightful to be around but she has a problem and she’s told me that if I’m willing I can pay for her to go back to therapy – yeah right!  So she is aware she has a problem but she’s 23 and frankly old enough to be in control of her own life.

I’ve got issues, everyone does, and right now I’m a single woman again after 26 years – I am dealing with my own life and when she acts like a prima dona then I’m happy to ignore her ramblings so for now I’m happy she’s not here.   However, she’s locked herself in my bedroom (coz it’s the only room with a lock) and I’m dying to get in there and put some things away.  Don’t worry I’m not going in there just yet.  I prefer to keep a calm cool head until her next lot of ravings.

http://www.controlstress.net/stress/stress-tips-to-avoid-it/

http://stressmanagementforyou.com/stress-relief/disorganization-causes-stress-or-does-stress-cause-disorganization/

I hope you all have a great day!  Thank you for reading.

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. I love to write and writing romance keeps me from going completely mad. I have found a job that I absolutely love and there are times it affords me time to type out my stories since I write all my stories by hand - I'm never without a pen or book. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. The Law of Attraction is something very close to my heart and I can honestly say with certainty that it works for me. I am truly grateful for the life I have been given and continue to enjoy. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

