I’m not depressed at the thought of redundancy but that doesn’t mean I want it to happen.

We have recently received information that on the GLOBAL MARKET there will be redundancies at PEPSICO/Smiths Snackfood Australia and even more recently our Head Office in Sydney has had a few people scaled back so I’m sure there are more on the horizon and right now I’m very close to believing I’m next.  Why do I say that?  Well I’m a receptionist/administrative assistant.  The work that I have been doing for at least 5 years and is 85% of my workload has now gone to Sydney thanks to upper management changes.

That has left me with time to burn.  Since I’m not a person to sit on my laurels I have been asking for work but what is the hardest pill to take is that it is all “crap”.  Filing, photocopying, general mail outs and all those things that I used to do when I first started work 30+ years ago.  When I have a day off, no one takes over receptionist duties.  The phones are diverted to customer service and the front door is locked where a bell is rung by visitors to come onto the site.  The only thing that doesn’t get done is the mail but hey, that can be easily looked after.

My job is becoming totally boring and frankly I’m finding people aren’t even looking me in the eyes any more, especially my boss.  Yes I have cause to be concerned but really I am sending out my resume to recruitment places as well as going on line to apply for jobs I just hope that I find another job BEFORE the axe falls.

I’ve already watched three friends lose their jobs to redundancy and they came out alot better off than me mainly due to the huge payout received due to their time with the company which added up to at least 40years between them but that doesn’t say a lot for the company if they are willing to get rid of the people with the most experience in favour of cheaper labour.

I will not be upset if it is my time to go but that won’t stop me from crying because I cry a great deal.  I’m just disappointed in the way in which it is done.  In the past you are marched out the door as if you have done something wrong and there is no time to say goodbye to friends or colleagues.  This hurts to know that a company can do that to people who have worked to make the company what it is today.  Collecting things I have brought to the table in a box and handing over company cards and access passes is one of the worst parts of the whole process.

I believe that things happen for a reason and I am finding that I really would like a challenge for my future and know that I am an asset to any company but I’ve been through this once before and fell into the deepest depression I have ever been through.  It took a lot of support from my husband to help me get another position but now that he is no longer around I am going to have to depend on myself.

I have just bought the Rhonda Byrne book THE MAGIC and am following it daily.  I am grateful for the book and everything I have on a daily basis.  I am thankful that I am able to move mountains or little hills with the insight I am getting and it WILL help me to continue on my soul search to find a new job, with a new challenge and the attitude that I can make a difference.

This little “post” is not meant to depress anyone especially me but to confirm that I am strong enough to take it all in and I can move on from this – it’s time for a change and I know that I have a load of knowledge that I can impart on my next employer – I just want to be free to make that decision myself and not to have it made for me by bureaucrats whose sole purpose in life is to fill their pockets with money that was achieved through the efforts of the “little people” and not the Manager’s who take all the credit for their staff’s work.

So I end this post on a positive note – I am strong.  I am capable.  I have my health.  I have my knowledge and I’m very good at what I do so I know that I will find something to keep me in the manner to which I have become accustomed.  I am willing to do more training and I like who I am right now.  So Thank You to the Universe for the person I am today – I am grateful for all the things I have and have learned and still have to learn.

I will be OK.

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. I love to write and writing romance keeps me from going completely mad. I have found a job that I absolutely love and there are times it affords me time to type out my stories since I write all my stories by hand - I'm never without a pen or book. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. The Law of Attraction is something very close to my heart and I can honestly say with certainty that it works for me. I am truly grateful for the life I have been given and continue to enjoy. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

