Do you believe in signs?

I am probably the most optimistic person you would ever meet.  I don’t believe in the glass being half empty EVER.  I always believe that believing in yourself and being positive brings positive things into your life.  I’ve had that proven over and over again.

Recently I have been reading THE SECRET and THE POWER by Rhonda Byrne, a girlfriend put me onto it all because she said that I was that person Rhonda wrote about in her books and sure enough I read the books and realised that I lived it all on a daily basis.  I have never asked for alot and I don’t need alot but what I have I appreciate more than anyone could ever realise.

But now I’m at a crossroads.  I no longer enjoy the job I’ve been at for 7 years and I’d like to move on but as they say “it’s scary” – the last time I went for a job my ex knew someone that worked there and arranged for me to have an interview.  Sure I loved the job at first but now things are changing and I’m being given less and less responsibility, very soon I shall be going to work to read the newspaper.  Sure I get paid for it but I’m of the old school that a day’s work deserves a days pay and while it’s never been about the money I want to go to work and enjoy it NOW!!!

A new opportunity has come up and this time it’s all on me.  I have applied for two positions on line and I got a reply almost within days to one of them.  It’s with a construction company and checking their website it seems like it’s something I would be interested in.  I’ve always been interested in building things and how they start and end up.  It’s been 3 weeks since the phone call and I have an interview this week, funnily enough, I’m not afraid (something I always seem to be).  I almost feel like I have the job and am looking at the move like it’s a foregone conclusion.  I don’t know why I think this I just do.

NOW FOR THE SIGN:  I ordered a little Hallmark Movie from Amazon call SOLDIER LOVE STORY.  It’s a simple little tale of a single woman returning to work after divorce to a job she really doesn’t like and meeting a man who coaches her son baseball and gives her a second chance at love.  During this movie there are references to the fact that her job, while good and paying well, is boring and she wants a new challenge in her life.  He convinces her that she’s never too old to do the thing that she loves the most.  She decides to go back to school to be an architect.

Simple, straight to the point and confirms what I’m going through right now.  What more do I need?  Well!  I am a huge movie fan and there was a movie I was thinking about last week that I loved with Rock Hudson and Jane Wyman – I thought “gee I haven’t seen that in so long I wonder how I can find it?”  Well guess what?  Just two days later I was watching TV and there on the screen was the movie I thought about.  Not only that it was on our cable network that had the same channel 2 hours later and I was able to set myself up to tape it.

Was that a sign?  Was it the universe telling me that good things are coming my way?  Was it something to let me know that the universe is talking to me or thinking about me?  Well not only that but two more movies I love NOW, VOYAGER and AROUND THE WORLD UNDER THE SEA came on the following day.

Do I believe in signs now?  I still don’t know but I am changing the way I think about the universe.  In fact I’m thinking about the universe and my part in it more and more lately.  It might not be for everyone and people will probably scoff and laugh.  But hey!  Whatever works for you!!  I am making an effort to make changes that make me happy.

I honestly believe that my ex husband didn’t get it.  He took on three jobs providing for his family and getting us the best of everything when all we really needed was to have him at home.  I’ve said it all along he was a great provider but an average husband and father.  He didn’t get it when I told people that I had everything I ever wanted (which was only a job I liked, a roof over our head, food on the table and two great kids).

If you believe in signs then follow them.  Don’t be afraid to take on the challenge that is set before you.  You don’t have to take on big projects but something simple like walking out the front door to go for a walk or a bike ride makes a great deal of difference.  I have never liked cameras and refuse point blank to have my photo taken but I have to tell you that I take my camera everywhere now and take photos of flowers, houses, anything that takes my fancy and I’m happy doing just that just now, nothing more.  It only takes a minute.

I love what Eleanor Roosevelt said “Do one thing everyday that scares you”. I must admit I don’t do it often but I try to do it at least once a week.

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. What do I want to do? I have my new house and am enjoying making it my own but now I am looking for the right job for me after 10 years of being "just a receptionist". I don't want to be "JUST" anything anymore. I would like a job that helps me grow personally, something that encourages me to learn but also where I can be creative and people appreciate me. I want, I want, I want but really I need to know that I am comfortable in my own skin and my life means something to me. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

