It’s time to learn how to do the little things

But the question is where?  There is no course for general upkeep and general duties around the house or life in general.  Why am I asking this question?  It all has to do with a watch band.  Yep something that simple.  I recently, during the Christmas sales purchased a $25.00 watch for $14.95.  Great.  It’s simple, I can actually read the numbers without wearing my glasses and it’s the colour I want.  So why am I asking the question?  Because the band was too big and I went to a little shop to get some links taken out.  For a five minute job it cost $12.95.  OMG!!!! How is it that the cost of a simple exercise almost cost more than the watch itself.  In the end the total cost for the watch was $28.00 and yet if I spent the $25.00 on it and then got the band fixed well I’m probably lucky.  Yeah right!

It’s the simple things also around the house that are driving me nuts.  I’m single now and my ex was of no use around the house – it was easier to throw the item away and get a new one before he had a chance to find out it was broken in the first place.  In the end he learned to just give up before he started and buy it himself.

Now there are little jobs that need to be done.  The bi-focal doors on the shower have lost a roller at the top.  Cheap to go out and buy just the roller but the question is how do I put it on and make it work?

I need new curtains – nowadays there are pre-made curtains.  All I have to do is buy the track and put it on the wall and add the curtains but sure enough I need a drill, a level and making sure that the curtains are drilled into the right position on the wall.  It costs more now for the labour than it does for the curtains and tracks.

Putting new handles on doors, putting up hooks all those little things that we get someone else to do and yet they are so easy why isn’t there a course to do the little things?  Maybe that’s something stores like BUNNINGS should be looking into on site.  To be able to work out measurements for flooring or little jobs that include bathrooms and kitchens?

All I want is for my house to look and feel like it’s finished rather than know that there are niggly little things that need attention and being that I don’t have someone available to fix them I would like the opportunity to do that myself.  Making my house – my own.  Is that too much to ask?

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. What do I want to do? I have my new house and am enjoying making it my own but now I am looking for the right job for me after 10 years of being "just a receptionist". I don't want to be "JUST" anything anymore. I would like a job that helps me grow personally, something that encourages me to learn but also where I can be creative and people appreciate me. I want, I want, I want but really I need to know that I am comfortable in my own skin and my life means something to me. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

