The Breast Reduction is only around the corner

Well the date is set – yep 21st September. I’ve seen the doctor and had all the dates arranged and while I’m a little apprehensive (who wouldn’t be when a doctor is going to cut out most of your boobs) I’m also relieved that I’m not feeling that this is “the biggest mistake of my life” so obviously it’s not.

It doesn’t help, however, that a girlfriend who has had TWO REDUCTIONS almost 20 years ago has been in my ear. Why? Because in all the operations she has had (and she’s had alot) something always goes wrong and I’m talking “life threatening” wrong. It just hasn’t worked out for her. She is telling me things that while I’m not listening (of course I’m listening) but I’m pushing at the back of my mind.

My doctor? He’s an expert in his field, in fact, he’s had a procedure named after him. He’s over 50 so it means he’s been doing this for awhile.

Sure there is going to be discomfort and I’m expecting it but I have the support of great family. My daughter has already organised to take time off work to look after me a couple of days and then my mother, I think, is dying to come and look after me which makes me feel really good. She’s retired so probably bored out of her socks and needs something like this but hey! Who’s complaining.

No I don’t believe I’ll need much help but hey! I’m not allowed to lift anything heavy including a pot off the sink. I won’t be able to lift my arms above my head so I’m going to have to find a couple of shirts that do up at the front – guess what? All those shirts have been sewn together because I couldn’t stand the gaping of the buttons – I guess I’m going to have to go shopping and buy new clothes. Now that will be hard to do – a woman going shopping. Oh dear, what will I do with myself?

I’ve also got at least 80 days sick leave owing from work and it seems that an operation is classed under sick leave. Just as long as I give in a letter admitting that it was for sick leave I won’t lose my annual leave. Wow! A win! win!

Also I’ll be on leave for two and a half weeks which means that I’ll be home for my birthday. I can celebrate in a manner befitting myself. What more can a girl ask for?

No matter what I do I come out ahead.

This is a good thing and I plan on utilising all the time to work solidly on my writing which I have put off for quite some time. Now I can spend the time I want to on myself – what more could I ask for?

Smaller boobs? No wait that’s the reason for the operation. WIN! WIN! Again!

Checkmate!

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. What do I want to do? I have my new house and am enjoying making it my own but now I am looking for the right job for me after 10 years of being "just a receptionist". I don't want to be "JUST" anything anymore. I would like a job that helps me grow personally, something that encourages me to learn but also where I can be creative and people appreciate me. I want, I want, I want but really I need to know that I am comfortable in my own skin and my life means something to me. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

