I got through a day

I got through a day without thinking or worrying about my husband who left. I can’t believe it. I drove home from work and suddenly it dawned on me I hadn’t thought about him since this morning. How nice is that?
It sounds so trivial to say it out loud and what is funnier is that I haven’t loved the guy for years – I tolerated him (he wasn’t abusive or anything – he was just “there”). The only time we really talked is when we argued about the kids and how he thought they were spoiled and didn’t respect him and then he’d spend $400 on a Tiffany necklace for his daughter and a new computer for his son. Respect? First of all you have to appreciate the value of a dollar.
He thought that by buying things his kids and wife would respect him. He thought money was the be all and end all of life on earth. OK so he didn’t come from money and became an accountant to understand the value but no one can put a value on family.
I grew up in a loving family – a loving environment. We were middle class Australia so we were lucky that we could afford things that maybe my husband could not but as years went by and our kids started to grow up my husband couldn’t understand at 18 why my son wanted to go out driving. “He has to be home by….” My God! The kids was 18 and had his license. If he was old enough to drive he was old enough to make his own decisions but my husband didn’t see it like that. He was working at age 15 since his father died and his mother was raising four kids – or trying to.
My husband never got the chance to play outside with other kids and enjoy a life before work – he was thrust into it and for that I am truly sorry.
That doesn’t excuse his behaviour especially since I considered him the most honest and trustworthy man I could have ever known. I’ve obviously changed that opinion of him and certainly wouldn’t trust him again but he still has his family’s best interests at heart and wants the kids and I to continue living in the house and he’s willing to pay most of everything with me paying the amenities. What is funnier still is that I think the house is too big and I am left to clean it. I want to sell up and either build or buy another house – a little smaller with all the mod-cons. Since the area I am in is increasing yearly I think I could find a house in my price range and pay for it outright. That way he wouldn’t have to pay off a mortgage or anything to do with me ever again.
BUT the big hold up is the kids – they want to stay. They don’t want to move. OK so I’ll give it 12 months – if in that time I can convince my kids to join me and move to an even better home a little smaller that I don’t have to clean as much then I think life could get even sweeter.
So here’s to 12 months and hopefully I can last without going stir crazy.

He’s moved on and out – didn’t take anything but his clothes so obviously his new “friend” has a house, furniture and a life he’s more interested in. Goodluck to them both but I don’t want him being a part of my life after that year so I think I’ve got my work cut out for me.

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. What do I want to do? I have my new house and am enjoying making it my own but now I am looking for the right job for me after 10 years of being "just a receptionist". I don't want to be "JUST" anything anymore. I would like a job that helps me grow personally, something that encourages me to learn but also where I can be creative and people appreciate me. I want, I want, I want but really I need to know that I am comfortable in my own skin and my life means something to me. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

