Why is it not considered good form to be alone after separation?

My husband decided he didn’t want to live with us any more and moved out. His decision. He had been wrestling with the fact for over a year. Yeah right. The guy had some other woman waiting in the wings and he preferred her over me. Instead of talking through his issues with a professional or even talking it over with me he decided he was unhappy and moved on.

He is still paying off the mortgage and part paying for all the necessary things to keep the house, the kids and me going. I still live in the house and he doesn’t want me to move so I see no reason to do so. Good luck to him in his new life.

The problem I’ve got is my mother and now my daughter don’t want me to end up alone. Why? What’s wrong with being alone? Frankly I feel like I’ve been alone for a year.

I have NEVER lived on my own. I stayed at home until I fell in love, then moved in with my boyfriend and two years later we married. 24 years later he decided to move out with, (I’m only guessing but) another family.

This is my time to shine. My girlfriend has been alone for over 20 years. My aunt has been widowed for at least the same amount of time. Both live alone. My aunt doesn’t like it but does it.

I don’t have the problem of friends inviting me over and me ending up like a fifth wheel. I like being alone. I like to sit at my computer and work on my stories. Or write articles in my WordPress.

What has being together ever got me but two beautiful kids who are now old enough to vote. So hell, I’m going to give “singlehood” a try and damn the consequences. I’ve had to go out and get myself a real bank account. I’ve arranged for my pay to go into that bank account. I’ve learnt to go online and transfer money from my bank account.

This is all first time stuff for me and rather exciting. Sure there are some un-exciting stuff but I had alot of that when I was married. Now I can do what I like without actually having to ask someone if it’s OK. Sure I don’t have the money I would normally have had but that’s what saving is all about. AND!! If I want to I could either go for a better paying job or start to work on weekends to get a little more cash. I’m not an invalid at 51, in fact, I’m a strong vibrant woman. I get up in the mornings and go for a walk before work. I still have to come home and make dinner, clean the house and generally run out after my kids but gee that’s not something I can stop doing being a mum.

All I know is that I have an opportunity here to think about me for a change and stop wondering what if. Now if only my mother would stop insisting that I lose weight to show my husband I’m doing good after his departure I would be even happier. Oh well, you can’t help what mum’s think can you?

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. I love to write and writing romance keeps me from going completely mad. I have found a job that I absolutely love and there are times it affords me time to type out my stories since I write all my stories by hand - I'm never without a pen or book. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. The Law of Attraction is something very close to my heart and I can honestly say with certainty that it works for me. I am truly grateful for the life I have been given and continue to enjoy. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

