I need to get over myself

I went to work, Christmas Eve, 7.30 am. In an attempt to get out of the office by 1.00 pm.
No one cared!
My boss turned up even though he was sick yesterday and “emailed” me a company Christmas Card.
I printed up the newsletter which was supposed to be mailed out today.
Found I had received by fax 60 invoices which had to be keyed TODAY!!! End of period / End of Year.
It was 12.00 pm and there was a bbq going on out the back.
I started to key in the hopes it would only take an hour (silly me). Had to beg a warehouse member to bring me a sausage in some bread as no one from my own team even offered to bring me food.
I started to key.
My boss came out with a box full of pamphlets that I could “send out whenever” and dumped them on my desk.
At 1.45 the manager who asked me to do the work walked past and wondered why I was still there.
“Hello!! Had to be done!” but luckily I had just finished.
He was walking out the door but wished me a Merry Christmas.
My own boss I could hear inside laughing in one of the offices.
I packed up, turned everything off and went home.
MERRY CHRISTMAS.
He’s now off for two weeks and I’m relishing the fact that I have two weeks with minimal staff.
YIPPEE!! I get to file everything, mail everything, clean up the office and generally get ready for 2011.
My saving grace? No boss for two weeks and I get to go in in casual gear.
PLUS – I can come and go as I please and there are the Boxing Day Sales.
See it wasn’t so bad afterall.
Obviously my feelings don’t count. No matter how much work you do and I enjoy the work and am very proud of the job that I do – its’s obviously never enough. Where are those lovely people who care about their staff? Where are the ones that would take time out to say please and thank you. Where are the bosses who tell you to go home coz you’ve worked your arse off over the last couple of weeks and deserve time off without having to put in a leave form.
Obviously not where I work.
What is even funnier again is that they are trying “WORK PLACE REFORMS” with the slogan “NO LEAVE, NO LIFE!” They are working on making the workplace a happy place for their staff.
Well here’ s one work member who feels totally let down by the company but at the age of 51 I don’t want another job, I don’t want to start all over again at another company. I’m comfortable where I am and while I hate the way people work in my company I am happy in the knowledge that every January there are changes afoot and hopefully one of them means that my boss will move on. I’ve had some bad bosses in my time but this one takes the cake. Maybe I can train the next one a whole lot better by being up front with him at the start.

NEVER HAPPEN! I’m doomed to work with idiots for the rest of my life.

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. What do I want to do? I have my new house and am enjoying making it my own but now I am looking for the right job for me after 10 years of being "just a receptionist". I don't want to be "JUST" anything anymore. I would like a job that helps me grow personally, something that encourages me to learn but also where I can be creative and people appreciate me. I want, I want, I want but really I need to know that I am comfortable in my own skin and my life means something to me. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

