Goodbye Farewell Amen

I have been in two minds for a long time.  I’ve worked with four girls for the past six years but the last six months have been so difficult because they have all been miserable at work.  They’ve complained, whinged and just been miserable.  They’ve tried to work through their frustration as the jobs they had were menial but to no avail.  Three of the girls have been with the company over 10 years and enjoyed lucrative positions in the past, however, time away on maternity leave had them returning to positions less than what they were used to.  They all went to part time but kept their salaries which were and could  be classed as offensive to some but in early December 2010 they were all made redundant. 

What is bad, however, is that they were marched off the premises without a backwards glance never to be seen again.  Their paperwork still on their desk days later and their personal items loaded into archive boxes.   Where is the justice?

Other members of staff were made redundant, one offered a position lower than he had and another was given the opportunity to stay another fortnight.  In this time he was taken to lunch, given a farewell and even a gift from the very boss who arranged for him to be made redundant – where is the justice.

I am disappointed for the girls as I have since spoken to them all and while they are glad to have left it was quite discouraging to have been marched off the premises like a common criminal when in fact the company was at fault.

There is a positive spin on it all I believe in “things happening for a reason” and the reason this was done is because they were miserable and this is the perfect opportunity for them to find their own way in the world and find their niche and be very happy.

I shall miss them but I also know I will feel a lot better due to the negative energy that has enveloped me through their sadness and discouraging attitudes.

Having said all that, however, there has been no comment about their departure or any of the redundancies made within the company over the last couple of weeks.  It is as if they were never here.  Morale is at an all time low and unfortunately secrets and whispers behind the backs of people continue.

2011 we have been told is a year of change and many new positions have been made but until next year these new changes will not be made public so communication is still something that is not readily available and disappointing to say the least.

Gossip is rife and until a final decision is made we can only sit and wait.   Disappointing as it is not everyone is going to like the changes and there may be more departures of the personal kind due to company decisions without any forethought.  disappointing but true.

My personal farewell to friends:

Changes within the company structure have recently meant that we say goodbye to three members of staff who have been with the company collectively for almost 40 years.  Denise Shirley (18 Years); Donna McGrath (12 Years) and Adele Carlile (10 Years).  It is with sadness we say farewell, however, also with a renewed enthusiasm for them that their experience helps with their new journey out into the world (Melbourne).  I would like to thank them for their help throughout my time in the company and while they will be sorely missed I know they have left a mark on the office as a whole.

About daysnet

I am having the best time of my life. I'm 50 plus, divorced, two grown children and just the opportunity to have a life after so many years of scrimping and saving is well worth the time it took to get here. I have a fantastic family with great family values and spending time alone is certainly something I enjoy which a lot of people find difficult to handle. I was born and raised in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and cannot imagine living anywhere else. Strangely I don't like to travel and have no plans to do that in the future - I say strangely because so many people can't understand this, wanting to travel and experience other cultures - not on my agenda. I love to write and writing romance keeps me from going completely mad. I have found a job that I absolutely love and there are times it affords me time to type out my stories since I write all my stories by hand - I'm never without a pen or book. My motto is ... "People may forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" I've had many people who I can't even remember their names tell me that I made them feel good and for that I am truly grateful. I have become an avid reader of Rhonda Byrne's 'THE SECRET', "THE POWER" & now 'THE MAGIC". Whether you believe or think it's a load of @#$!@ - I do know that it works for me and my life and I am all the better for it. The Law of Attraction is something very close to my heart and I can honestly say with certainty that it works for me. I am truly grateful for the life I have been given and continue to enjoy. You can't go wrong when you just learn to say "thank you".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

